Sonning Common Primary School

Space to learn, grow and be inspired

The Governors

Category Term ends Appointed by Date
Ben Cosh
Co-opted Sep 2020 Governing Board 28/09/16
Lindsey Tucker
(joint vice-chair)
Parent Nov 2018 Governing Board 01/11/14
Barry Perkins
(joint vice-chair and lead governor for child protection)
Co-opted Oct 2021 Governing Board 13/10/09
Chris Hirst Staff (Head) Ex officio N/A N/A
Sue Tyldesley Co-opted Sep 2021 Governing Board 01/09/13
Emma Ashley Parent Feb 2021 elected (unopposed) 16/01/17
Rupert Loader Co-opted Feb 2021 Governing Board 13/02/17
Caroline Conway Co-opted Sep 2020 Governing Board 01/10/12
Alex Scott  Co-opted Feb 2020 Governing Board 25/02/16
Steve McGrath Co-opted Nov 2018 Governing Board 18/01/12
Andy Lovell Local Authority Aug 2018 Local Authority 01/09/14
Rachelle Bartlett Staff (Teacher) Mar 2018 Staff 13/03/14
vacancy Co-opted
vacancy Co-opted
vacancy Parent
Associate Members  (Non-Voting)
Rachel Salmons Sep 2019 Associate Member
Fiona Allnutt Sep 2019 Associate Member
Gillian McNeill Sep 2021 Associate Member

Ben Cosh will serve as Chair of the Governors until 31st August 2018. Barry Perkins and Lindsey Tucker will serve as Vice-Chairs until 31st August 2018. These positions are reviewed on an annual basis.

All of the above Governors have declared that they have no relevant interests (business/pecuniary/material including governance in other educational institutions or relationships between governors or with school staff), except for Caroline Conway and Rupert Loader who are staff members, Rupert Loader’s company Kidscapism which provides the Assessment and Marking software, Emma Ashley who is an employee of the Education development Trust and Sue Tyldesley who has a daughter on the teaching staff.

The Clerk to the Governors is Sue Witten, who may be contacted by calling 0118 972 2105 or emailing

The Chair of Governors can be emailed on

The Child Protection / Safeguarding lead governor is Barry Perkins who can be contacted by email

Here are details of Governors who have stepped down in the last 12 months: ex-Governors